Home » Categories » General IT Services » Productivity & Collaboration Tools » Exchange Email and Calendar Services » Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

How to change your Calendar’s Default Permission?

To check your Calendar's Permissions Settings:

  1. Select Calendar from the Navigation Pane.
  2. Right click your Calendar and select Share --> Calendar Permissions (for Outlook2010) or Change Calendar Permissions... (for Outlook 2007).

Default Permissions

When you check your Calendar Permissions, you will notice that the Default is Free/Busy time as shown below. This will allow people to see when you’re busy when they send you a meeting request and this is the recommended setting for collaboration with others.

If you don’t want other Exchange uses in HKUST to see your Free/Busy time, change the Default permission to None by selecting it in the Read section, as shown below.


Calendar Permission Levels

Below are explanations of the specific permission levels you can give to individuals with access to your calendar.

Read

Read refers to what a person can see in your calendar.

  • None - User cannot see any of your appointments, including whether you are free or busy. This can only be set for all users (the name, "Default"), not for individuals; cannot be opened in schedule assistant.
  • Free/Busy time - User can see if you have an appointment at a certain time, but cannot see the location nor the name of the appointment.
  • Free/Busy time, subject, location - User can see if you have an appointment, its subject/title, and its location.
  • Full Details - User can view all information about an appointment.

Write

This set of permissions refers to whether or not one can create events in your calendar, and modify these entries. You can select more than one option at a time.

  • Create items - Individual can create appointments and meeting requests on your calendar.
  • Create subfolders - Not Applicable
  • Edit Own - User can modify/change any items they created in your calendar, such as appointment time, subject, etc.
  • Edit All - Same as above, but can edit all entries created by yourself and other users.

Delete Items

  • None - User cannot remove entries in your calendar, regardless of whether or not they created it.
  • Own - User can delete any entry they have created.
  • All - User has access to delete all entries, even ones you have created.

Folder

  • Folder Visible - This option will automatically be selected if you are a "Contributor" or above. It allows one to open an entire calendar in a Outlook and Outlook Web Access (OWA/UGAMail Webmail) to see details of meetings. This is required in order to view the calendar.

Related Links

Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
Exchange Email: Answers to common FAQ
Viewed 3924 times since Thu, Feb 2, 2012
Outlook Web App (OWA): Frequently Asked Question
Viewed 11117 times since Thu, Mar 29, 2012
Help from Microsoft Support
Viewed 8020 times since Mon, Jan 9, 2012
How long can email messages remain on the iPhone?
Viewed 2892 times since Fri, Feb 24, 2012