Home » Categories » General IT Services » Productivity & Collaboration Tools » Exchange Email and Calendar Services » Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) » Calendar Related

How to share your calendar?

If you would like to enjoy the calendaring features offered by Exchange 2010, you are recommended to use Outlook 2010 instead of Outlook 2007.

Before sharing your calendar with other Exchange users, it is worth to review your Calendar permissions.

Outlook 2010

To share your default calendar with another Exchange user:

  1. On the Home tab, in the Share group, click Share Calendar.
  2. Click To... in order to select the person who you want to share with.
    (DO NOT enter type the name of the recipient or contact groups as it will cause problem sending the invitation).

  3. Enter or select any other options that you want, just as if you were sending an email message.

    Note: Other Outlook 2010 or Outlook Web App (OWA) users can view your shared calendar no matter you select "Availability only", "Limited Details" or "Full Details", with the allowed permission. However, if you are sharing your calendar to an Outlook 2007 user, you must select Full Details (i.e. with at least the "Reviewer" permission) before they can view your shared calendar.
  4. Click Send. The recipient sees an email notification that you have shared your calendar.
If you want to share a calendar that you created that is not your default Calendar, in the Navigation Pane, right-click the calendar name, and then click Share ->Share Calendar. You will note that the options are different for sharing your default calendar and the default permission is "Reviewer" (read Full Details). Adjust your Calendar Permissions after sending the sharing invitation if necessary.

Outlook 2007

To share your default calendar with another Exchange user:

  1. In the Navigation Pane, click Share My Calendar...
  2. Click To... in order to select the person who you want to share with.
    (DO NOT enter type the name of the recipient or contact groups as it will cause problem).
  3. The default permission is "Reviewer" (read Full Details). You will need to change the permission by right click your Calendar and then select Change Calendar Permissions... after sending the sharing invitation if necessary.
  4. Select any other options that you want, just as if you were sending an email message.
  5. Click Send. The recipient sees an email notification that you have shared your calendar.

Related Links

Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.